Spring 2019





He is the very symbol of Philadelphia's great boxing history. One of the hardest punching, toughest, most accomplished and most popular of Philly ring attractions, Bennie Briscoe is the inspiration for our award.

Briscoe fought professionally from 1962 to 1982, and compiled a record of 66 wins, 24 losses, 5 draws, with 53 knockouts and 1 no contest. He fought for the middleweight championship three times and although he never took the crown, he is considered one of the best to never win a world title.

With his shaven head, menacing stare, pawing style and pulverizing power - especially to the body, Briscoe thrilled fans in Philadelphia and all over the world. He was a working class fighter and a champion of the people.  No other boxer better personifies the Philly fighter.

Now Bennie Briscoe's legacy is further set. From now on, Philadelphia boxers will be awarded in the name of this great fighter, and his image will rest upon the trophy shelf of the very best of the new generation of fighters. Briscoe's skill and accomplishments have become the measuring stick for all those who do battle in the city of Philadelphia. They may be good, but are they good enough to win the Briscoe Award?



Every year, Philly Boxing History honors the best accomplishments of the local fight scene by awarding participants in various categories. These awards will also serve as a snapshot of the year's history and help to document the the story of boxing in the City as it unfolds. Award categories include "Philly Fighter of the Year", "Philly Fight of the Year", "Performance of the Year", "Prospect of the Year", "Rookie of the Year", "Amateur of the Year", and others. 

The Briscoe Awards Event is held each year to celebrate the previous year's accomplishments. The event brings together the fighters, other boxing personalities, and the fans. 

Our awards were created by local artists in the likeness of Bennie Briscoe. These are no "off the shelf" trophies. Each award is handmade and only available to those honored by our organization. Currently, there are two awards, The Briscoe Statue and The Briscoe Medal. The Briscoe Statue, a full-body cold-cast figure of Briscoe in his iconic fighting pose, was created by Carl LeVotch in 2007. The Briscoe Medal, created by Michael Ajero in 2012, is made of solid bronze and features Bennie's profile on the front and the Liberty Bell on the back. 



ABOUT Philly Boxing History Inc...

Philly Boxing History Incorporated is a 501c3 Non-Profit organization dedicated to preserving and celebrating the storied ring heritage of Philadelphia. In addition to the Briscoe Awards, Philly Boxing History also has a Gravestone Program, an Arts Program, a comprehensive historical website, and is working toward a physical museum. 


2018 EVENT

The 11th Annual Briscoe Awards will be held on March 25, 2018, 1:00-4:00 PM, at the VBA Club, 2733 E. Clearfield St., Philadelphia, PA 19134.

This year, we are going old-school by bringing the Briscoe Awards back to it original venue - the historic VBA Club - for a special, "private" celebration with limited space available. Only 100 tickets will be made available to the public at $20 each. The ticket price includes admission, a program, food, draft beer, wine, and soft drinks. So purchase your tickets now, before they are sold out.

This Year's Winners:
2017 Philly Fighter of the Year - Tyrone Brunson
2017 Philly Fight of the Year - Brunson vs. Cintron
2017 Prospect of the Year - Avery Sparrow
2017 Breakout Fighter of the Year - Avery Sparrow
2017 The One to Watch - Jaron Ennis
2017 Rookie of the Year - Dylan Price
2017 Amateur of the Year - Raymond Ford
2017 Performance of the Year - Tyrone Brunson
2017 Knockout of the Year - Marcel Rivers (KO4 Charles)
2017 Philly Photo of the Year - To be chosen at event
Everett Brothers Award - Jerome Conquest


 Thank you to all the SPONSORS of the 11th Annual Briscoe Awards

Thank you to all the SPONSORS of the 11th Annual Briscoe Awards